The Early Years Foundation Stage

All children from birth through to the end of their reception year in school follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).  This is a play based curriculum framework focusing on seven aspects of learning and development.  All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.

Three prime areas are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning:

  • Personal, social and emotional development

  • Physical development

  • Communication and language

There are also four specific areas through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding of the world

  • Expressive arts and design

For further information on these areas of learning and development click on the link here:  Early years outcomes

The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage sets the standards for learning, development and care for chlldren from birth to five.  To view the document click here:  EYFS Statutory Framework September 2021